Deutsch-English

REDEMPTION
IMPOSSIBLE



a film by
Christian Rost & Claus Strigel

zum Shop
 

Home (DENKmal-Film)
Trailer

Presseserver or Press-PDF
News Letter (Redemption Impossible)

Festivals
Gänserndorf

 

At the far end of Austria, right on the Czech border is one of the most special places on earth. As under a magnifying glass the moral challenges of our civilization are meeting here: guilt, responsibility and redemption. 40 chimpanzees are living in an overgrown former safari park, hermetically sealed off from the rest of the world. They are the survivors of the former laboratory of Immuno, a pharmaceutical company. Infected with HIV and hepatitis viruses. Traumatized, confused, and highly aggressive. They hate men and have every reason to do so. With them are four nurses. Some of them were their former care takers at the labs.

More than 20 years ago, at the age of 17, Renate and Annemarie began their training as animal nurses. Both of them grew up on Austrian farms and this was their dream job.

 


But then events took a different turn. Their internship took them to the animal laboratories of the pharmaceutical company Immuno in Vienna. 40 chimpanzees, kept individually in small wire cages were used as experimental animals for the development of HIV, hepatitis and influenza vaccines. For the animals this was daily torture. Anesthetized, infected with viruses, and always isolated. No movement, no contact with other monkeys. "Either you run and try to forget or you're stuck forever", says Annemarie today. Back then the two prospective animal nurses decide to stay hoping to provide the apes with a minimum of interaction.

 
 

At the same time a political thriller emerged concerning experimental chimpanzee. In 1973, the conservation agreement was ratified in Washington. Austria's accession would make the further import of wild animals impossible. Was it consideration for the interests of the largest pharmaceutical company in the country that Austria delayed the accession for almost 10 years and finally joined in 1986 as 74th country?
Doch nichts ist unmöglich:
But even four years after accession an illegal delivery of 20 chimpanzee babies from the animal dealer Dr. Sitter arrived directly from Sierra Leone. And this is only the starting point of a political thriller which should accompany the fate of the chimpanzees.
In 1997 the U.S. pharmaceutical company Baxter took over Immuno, and thus inherited a huge problem. They did not  want to perform any more tests on chimpanzees, but what to do with this toxic legacy of our civilization? Traumatized monkeys, some infected with HIV and lethal influenza viruses, cannot easily be disposed of. Finally the solution. Baxter set up a safari park for tortured animals near Vienna.

 
 

Renate and Annemarie and other keepers and experts now took care of the traumatized animals. The task of the crew was to introduce the mentally and physically tortured animals to a life where they can socialize in small groups.

 

 

 

Then, in 2005 disaster strikes. The arduously initiated rehabilitation program seems to come to an end. The safari park company is bankrupt. The chimpanzees become  bankruptcy estate and with them the nurses and experts. Many have to leave the project. Month by month, the remaining team works in uncertainty on the deserted safari park. Finally, after years of struggle, the animal protection company "Aiderbichl" takes over the compound in 2010.

 
Gabi

 

The survival of the chimps is secured. Socialization remains a tedious process accompanied by dramatic setbacks and heart-warming success. The first finger tip can result in tender embracement or end fatally.

 

 

 

 
 

At the beginning of 2012 the care takers’ dream comes true: After elaborate construction work 4 meter high, electrified concrete walls frame a compound.

 
 

What looks like a prison from outside means a lot to the chimps. For the first time since their imprisonment they will be able to see the sky above, feel wind, rain and sun and actually walk on grass.

 
Freigang

But are they still capable of accepting such a new world?

For Annemarie and Renate it’s a huge step in freeing themselves from the entanglement with the apes’ fate. For after all they are prisoners too – on the other side of the fence.


 "The chimpanzees show us what it means to be human," says Jane Goodall

 

REDEMPTION IMPOSSIBLE

Documentary / 90 Minuten

by Christian Rost & Claus Strigel

featuring
Renate Foidl • Annemarie Kuti • Bettina Gaupmann • Bianca Pokorny
as well as
Michael Aufhauser • Ulrike Goldschmid • Jane Goodall
Eugen Ruffingshofer •Josef Schmuck •Daniel Slama • Geza Teleki

Kamera Waldemar Hauschild
Montage Julia Furch • Musik Wolfgang Neumann • Ton Marcus Gruber
Aufnahmeleitung Jennifer Dietz
Redaktion Jutta Krug (WDR)Franz Grabner, Christian Riehs (ORF)
Produktion DENKmal-Film Strigel, Munich
distributed by missing films (Berlin)
Worldsales ORF-Enterprise (Wien)

Logos

Deutsch-English


REDEMPTION IMPOSSIBLE

ein Film von
Christian Rost & Claus Strigel
zum Shop

Presse & PR
Kinotermine & Trailer
Kontakt & Buchung & DVD
Festivals
NEWS
 


Festivals Gänserndorf

  Am äußersten Ende Österreichs, direkt an der tschechischen Grenze befindet sich einer der besonderen Orte dieser Welt. Wie unter einem Brennglas treffen sich hier die moralischen Herausforderungen unserer Zivilisation:  Schuld, Verantwortung und Wiedergutmachung. In einem verwilderten ehemaligen Safaripark, hermetisch von der übrigen Welt abgeschottet, leben 40 Schimpansen aus dem ehemaligen Versuchslabor des Pharmakonzerns Immuno. Infiziert mit HIV- und Hepatitisviren. Traumatisiert, verstört, hochaggressiv. Sie hassen Menschen und haben allen Grund dazu. Mit ihnen leben  vier Pflegerinnen. Zwei davon waren schon im Versuchslabor als Betreuerinnen der Affen tätig

Gut 20 Jahre ist es her, als Renate und Annemarie mit 17 ihre Ausbildung als Tierpflegerinnen begannen. Ursprünglich ihr Traumberuf.
 
 

 

 

Aber dann kam es anders als erwartet. Ihr Berufspraktikum brachte sie ausgerechnet in die Tierversuchslabors des Wiener Pharmaunternehmens Immuno. 40 Schimpansen, einzeln in engen Gitterkäfigen gehalten, dienten als Versuchstiere für die Entwicklung von HIV-, Hepatitis- und Grippe-Impfstoffen. Für die Tiere tägliche Tortur.  Betäubt, mit Viren infiziert und immer  isoliert. Keine Bewegung, kein Kontakt zu anderen Affen. „Entweder du gehst raus und vergisst, was du gesehen hast, oder du bist gefangen – für immer.“ sagt Annemarie heute. Denn die beiden angehenden Tierpflegerinnen entschieden sich damals  im Labor zu bleiben, in der Hoffnung, den Affen wenigstens ein Minimum Kontakt geben zu können.

 
 

Gleichzeitig braut sich um die Versuchs-Schimpansen eine Art Politthriller zusammen. 1973 wurde das Artenschutzabkommen in Washington ratifiziert. Schimpansen fallen als bedrohte Art unter die strikten Handelsbeschränkungen. Seit Österreichs Beitritt 1984 war es nicht mehr möglich, weitere Versuchs-Schimpansen legal ins Land zu schaffen.
Doch nichts ist unmöglich:
1986, Wien, Flughafen Schwechat:  Die letzte illegale Lieferung von 20 Kisten mit Schimpansenbabys wird ausgeladen. Einige sind bereits tot. Adressat: Der Pharmakonzern IMMUNO, Absender Tierhändler Dr. Sitter, Sierra Leone. Und dies ist nur der Ausgangspunkt eines globalen Politthrillers, der das weitere Schicksal der Schimpansen begleiten sollte.
1997 übernimmt der US-Pharmakonzern Baxter die Immuno, und damit ein gigantisches Problem. Im eigenen Namen durchgeführte Versuche an Primaten sind für den US-Konzern tabu. Aber wohin mit dieser giftigen Hinterlassenschaft unserer Zivilisation? Nach langem Ringen schließlich die Lösung: Baxter errichtet in einem Safaripark in der Nähe von Wien zwei Affenhäuser für die gequälten Tiere.

 
 

Annemarie und Renate ziehen mit ihren Affen um und stehen vor der erträumten Herausforderung ihres Lebens. Ihre Aufgabe: die psychisch und physisch traumatisierten Einzel-Tiere an ein artgemäßes Leben in Klein-Gruppen heranzuführen.

 

 

2005 dann die Katastrophe. Das mühsam begonnene Resozialisierungsprogramm scheint schon wieder zu Ende. Das Safaripark-Unternehmen ist bankrott. Die Schimpansen werden Konkursmasse und mit ihnen die Pflegerinnen. Fünf Jahre arbeitet das Team jetzt in absoluter Unsicherheit auf dem verlassenen Safariparkgelände. Oft wissen sie nicht, wovon sie das Futter bezahlen sollen.Im zweiten Anlauf gelingt es ihnen schließlich das Interesse des prominenten "Tierretters" Michael Aufhauser zu erregen. 2010 übernimmt sein Tierschutzunternehmen das Refugium.

 
Gabi

Der Fortbestand der Schimpansen ist vorläufig gesichert. Die Resozialisierung bleibt ein langwieriger Prozess, begleitet von rührenden Fortschritten und dramatischen Rückschlägen. Eine erste Begegnung kann mit liebevoller Umarmung oder Tod enden.

 
 

Anfang 2012 wird der über Jahrzehnte währende Traum  der Betreuerinnen war:
Nach aufwändige Bauarbeiten umschließen 4m hohe Betonmauern starkstrombewehrt  die neuen Außengehege.

 
 

Was von außen wie ein neues Gefängnis wirkt, bedeutet für die Schimpansen: Zum ersten mal in ihrem Leben könnten sie den Himmel über sich sehen, Wind, Regen, Sonne und Gras unter den Füssen spüren.

 
Freigang

Sind sie zu dieser neuen Erfahrung noch fähig?

Für Annemarie und Renate ist es zweifellos ein großer Schritt, um sich aus der Verstrickung mit dem Schicksal der Schimpansen zu befreien. Denn auch sie sind Gefangene – auf der anderen Seite des Gitters.


 „Die Schimpansen zeigen uns, was es bedeutet Mensch zu sein“,

 sagt Jane Goodall
 

UNTER MENSCHEN
Redemption Impossible
Dokumentarfilm / 90 Minuten

von Christian Rost & Claus Strigel

mit
Renate Foidl • Annemarie Kuti • Bettina Gaupmann • Bianca Pokorny
sowie
Michael Aufhauser • Ulrike Goldschmid • Jane Goodall
Eugen Ruffingshofer •Josef Schmuck •Daniel Slama • Geza Teleki

Kamera Waldemar Hauschild
Montage Julia Furch • Musik Wolfgang Neumann • Ton Marcus Gruber
Aufnahmeleitung Jennifer Dietz
Redaktion Jutta Krug (WDR)Franz Grabner, Christian Riehs (ORF) Produktion DENKmal-Film
Weltvertrieb ORF-Enterprise

Im Verleih von missing films


Logos